Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The Senate: Western Australia

In 2001 the Liberal Party won three seats: Senator Alan Eggleston, Senator David Johnston, and Senator Ross Lightfoot Labor won two seats: Senator Mark Bishop and Senator Ruth Webber. The Australian Democrats Senator Andrew Murray won the sixth spot. These Senators face re-election in 2007. Senators Murray and Lightfoot are retiring. Senators Johnston and Eggleston are leading the Liberal ticket. The third member was to be Mathias Cormann, but in May he was appointed to fill Senator Ian Campbell's casual vacancy. The new third candidate is Michaelia Cash, daughter of state MP George Cash. The Labor ticket is WA MLC Louise Pratt, Senator Bishop and Senator Webber. The Nationals candidate is Tony Crook, but the Nationals have not elected a Senator in WA since 1975 and are unlikely to do so this time. The lead Greens candidate is Scott Ludlam. The Democrats candidate is Erica Lewin The Family First candidate is Linda Rose. The Christian Democrat candidate is Gerard Goiran.

In 2004, the Liberals again won three seats and Labor again won two seats. The final seat went to the Greens, who defeated the sitting Democrat Senator. The Green defeated the fourth Liberal candidate after receiving both Democrat and Labor preferences. The Liberals polled 49.4% of the vote (3.4 quotas), Labor polled 32.6% of the vote (2.3 quotas), the Greens polled 8.0% (0.6 quotas), the Democrats polled 2.0% (0.1 quotas). If the 2004 voting pattern is repeated, Murray's seat will go to the Greens. But if Labor's primary vote rises to something approaching 40%, it could win three seats.


Western Australian Senate Candidates

Group A: The Nationals

Tony Crook
Wendy Duncan

Tony Crook

Group B: Citizens Electoral Council

Jean Robinson
Stuart Smith

Group C: Christian Democratic Party

Gerard Goiran
Peter Watt

Gerard Goiran

Group D: Non-Custodial Parents Party

Geoff Dixon
Mike Ward

Group E: Democratic Labor Party

Bob Boulger
Eric Miller

Group F: Liberal Party

David Johnston *
Dr Alan Eggleston *
Michaelia Cash
Michael Mischin
Jane Mouritz
Matt Brown

David Johnston

Alan Eggleston

Group G: Australian Democrats

Erica Lewin
Rob Olver
Don Hoddy

Erica Lewin

Group H: One Nation

James Hopkinson
Ron McLean

Group I: Family First

Linda Rose
Cathie Fabian
Steve Fuhrmann

Linda Rose

Group J: Senator On-Line

Daniel Mayer
Zoe Lamont

Group K: Carers Alliance

Thomas Hoyer
Shirley Primeau

Thomas Hoyer

Group L: Australian Labor Party

Louise Pratt
Mark Bishop *
Ruth Webber *

Louise Pratt

Mark Bishop

Ruth Webber

Group M:

Eric Wynne
Kevin Fitzgerald

Group N: Climate Change Coalition

Gary Warden
Sarah Bishop

Gary Warden

Group O: Socialist Alliance

Trent Hawkins
Julie Gray

Trent Hawkins

Group P:

Graeme Campbell
John Fischer
Russell Graham
Geoff Gibson

Graeme Campbell

Group Q:

Jennifer Armstrong
Michael Tan

Group R: What Women Want

Meryki Basden
Saywood Lane

Meryki Basden

Group S: Conservatives for Climate and Environment

Gerard Kettle
Shirley Anton

Gerard Kettle

Group T: Liberty and Democracy Party

Peter Whelan
Daniel Parker

Peter Whelan

Group U: The Greens

Scott Ludlam
Alison Xamon
Brenda Roy

Scott Ludlam


Richard McNaught
Edward Dabrowski


Senators serving until 2011







New South Wales
South Australia
Australian Capital Territory
Northern Territory

Back to Senate page
Back to contents page