Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The Senate: New South Wales

In 2001 the Liberal-National coalition won three seats: Senator Helen Coonan (Liberal), Senator Sandy Macdonald (Nationals), and Senator Marise Payne (Liberal). Labor won two seats: Senator Ursula Stephens and Senator George Campbell. The Greens candidate, Kerry Nettle, defeated the sitting Democrat Senator Vicki Bourne to win the sixth spot. These Senators face re-election in 2007. Senator Macdonald is retiring and will be succeeded by John "Wacca" Williams. Senator Campbell is also retiring (involuntarily), and the Labor ticket is party state secretary Mark Arbib, union official Doug Cameron and Senator Stephens. Senator Nettle is seeking a second term. The lead Australian Democrats candidate is Lyn Shumack. The lead Family First candidate is Andrew Markwell. Pastor Paul Green is the lead candidate for the Christian Democratic Party. Patrice Newell is running for the Climate Change Coalition. The One Nation candidate will be Judith Newson. The Socialist Alliance candidate will be Alex Bainbridge.

In 2004 The Coalition and Labor won three seats each. The Coalition polled 44.0% of the vote (3.1 quotas), Labor polled 36.4% of the vote (2.5 quotas) and the Greens polled 7.3% (0.5 quotas). In 2001 the Greens polled only 4.3% (0.3 quotas), but won the last seat after receiving preferences from the Coalition and One Nation, while Labor preferenced the Democrats. If the 2004 voting pattern is repeated, Nettle will lose her seat to the third Labor candidate.


New South Wales Senate Candidates

Group A: Liberal Party / The Nationals

Helen Coonan * (Liberal)
John Williams (Nationals)
Marise Payne * (Liberal)
Murray Lees (Nationals)
Vicky McGahey (Liberal)
Carolyn Currie (Liberal)

Helen Coonan

John Williams

Marise Payne

Group B: Citizens Electoral Council

Ann Lawler
Ian McCaffrey

Group C: Family First

Andrew Markwell
Kathy Gray

Andrew Markwell

Group D: Pauline’s United Australia

Brian Burston
John Carter

Group E: Climate Change Coalition

Patrice Newell
Dr Karl Kruszelnicki

Patrice Newell

Group F: Socialist Alliance

Alex Bainbridge
Susan Price, Susan
Dr Kamala Emanuel
Tim Dobson

Alex Bainbridge

Group G: The Greens

Kerry Nettle *
David Shoebridge
Marcia Ella-Duncan
Jack Mundey
Christina Ho
Sandra Heilpern

Kerry Nettle

Group H: What Women Want

Justine Caines
Janette Robinson

Justine Caines

Group I: Liberty and Democracy Party

Terja Petersen
Janos Beregszaszi

Terja Petersen

Group J

Ian Bryce
John August

Group K: Hear Our Voices

Toni McLennan
Lindsay Carroll

Group L: Senator On-Line

Pat Reilly
Berge Der Sarkissian

Pat Reilly

Group M: Australian Democrats

Lyn Shumack
David King
Brett Paterson

Lyn Shumack

Group N: Conservatives for Climate and Environment

Richard McNeall
James Maxfield

Richard McNeall

Group O: Democratic Labor Party

Michael O'Donohue
Terence O'Donohue

Group P

Klaas Woldring
Max Bradley

Group Q: The Fishing Party

Garth Bridge
Stewart Paterson

Group R: Christian Democratic Party

Paul Green
Elaine Nile
Allan Lotfizadeh
Peter Pilt
Bruce York

Paul Green

Group S: One Nation

Judith Newson
Andrew Webber
Peter Bussa
Andy Frew

Group T: Non-Custodial Parents Party

John Geremin
Roland Foster

John Geremin

Group U: Australian Shooters Party / Australian Fishing and Lifestyle Party

Robert Borsak
Robert Shaw
Jim Muirhead
Andrew Hestelow
Thomas Morgan

Robert Borsak

Group V

Walter Tinyow
Maria Chan

Group W: Australian Labor Party

Mark Arbib
Doug Cameron
Ursula Stephens *
Pierre Esber
Fiona Seaton
Pauline James

Mark Arbib

Doug Cameron

Ursula Stephens

Group X: Socialist Equality Party

Nick Beams
Carol Divjak

Nick Beams

Group Y: Carers Alliance

Marylou Carter
Nell Brown
Katrina Clark
Mary Mockler

Marylou Carter


Paula Nadas
Curtis Levy
Silvana Nero
Jennifer Stefanac


Senators serving until 2011


Wells (Liberal)





Western Australia
South Australia
Australian Capital Territory
Northern Territory

Back to Senate page
Back to contents page