Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Australian federal election, 2 July 2016
Senate election, Australian Capital Territory

(See NSW / Vic / Qld / WA / SA / Tas / NT)

Senators up for election:

  • Senator David Smith (Labor), will stand for the House of Reps.
  • Senator Hon Zed Seselja (Liberal)
  • Comment:

    The Liberals and Labor have won one seat each at every ACT Senate election since the territory gained Senate representation in 1975. First the Australian Democrats and more recently the Greens have repeatedly tried and failed to break the major parties' grip. At this election the threat will be to Liberal Senator Zed Seselja, a conservative supporter of Prime Minister Morrison. His challenger will be Anthony Pesec, a renewable-energy investor. The Liberals polled just short of a quota in their own right in 2016, but a recent poll showed them well short.

    On the Labor side, former Senator Katy Gallagher, who was knocked out over her citizenship, will get her seat back. Her successor, David Smith, will run for the new lower house seat of Bean.

    Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    Group A: Liberal Party
    Senator Hon Zed Seselja Robert Gunning

    Group B: Australian Greens
    Penny Kyburz Emma Davidson

    Group C: Independent
    Anthony Pesec Gary Kent

    Group D: Fraser Anning's Conservative National Party
    Shane Van Duren Scott Burkett

    Group E: United Australia Party
    Peter Walter Rebecah Hodgson

    Group F: Sustainable Australia
    John Haydon Joy Angel

    Group G: Australian Labor Party
    Katy Gallagher Nancy Waites

    Nick Houston Gary Cowton David Kim

  • Back to main Senate page
  • Back to main page