Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive
Australian federal election, due before May 2022

The Hon Scott Morrison MP, Prime Minister / The Hon Anthony Albanese MP, Leader of the Opposition

  • The House of Representatives
  • The Senate

  • Election news

  • The parties have selected a number of candidates in seats where sitting members are retiring: Linda Aitken (Liberal) in Pearce WA, Sam Birrell (Nationals) in Nicholls Vic, and Zoe McKenzie (Liberal) in Flinders Vic. There are still no Coalition candidates in three seats held by cross-benchers: Hughes, NSW, Indi, Vic or Warringah, NSW. There are no Labor candidates in Cunningham, NSW or Parramatta, NSW. In key marginal seats, Vince Connelly, currently Liberal member for Stirling, will contest Cowan, WA, Andrew Constance (Liberal) will contest Gilmore, NSW, Sarah Richards (Liberal) will contest Macquarie, NSW. There are still no Coalition candidates in Blair, Qld, Dobell, NSW or Eden-Monaro, NSW.

  • Liberal MPs in affluent seats, hitherto safe for the Liberals, are being challenged by a loose alliance of independents (all women so far), campaigning on climate, integrity and gender issues. Candidates announced are Claire Boardman (Flinders, Vic), Zoe Daniel (Goldstein, Vic), Suzie Holt (Groom, Qld), Linda Seymour and Georgia Steele (Hughes, NSW), Penny Ackery (Hume, NSW), Dr Monique Ryan (Kooyong, Vic), Dr Sophie Scamps (Mackellar, NSW), Kylea Tink (North Sydney, NSW) and Allegra Spender (Wentworth, NSW). More such candidates are expected.

  • Former Cabinet minister Christian Porter (Liberal, Pearce WA), current Health Minister Greg Hunt (Liberal, Flinders Vic) and backbencher Damian Drum (Nationals, Nicholls Vic) have announced their retirements.

  • Victorian Liberal Senator and Senate President Scott Ryan has resigned from the Senate. The Victorian Liberals have chosen Greg Mirabella, a Wangaratta farmer and husband of former MP Sophie Mirabella, to fill the casual vacancy and take the third spot on the Coalition Senate ticket in Victoria.

  • John Alexander (Liberal, Bennelong NSW), Sharon Bird (Labor, Cunningham NSW) and Julie Owens (Labor, Parramatta NSW) have announced their retirements.

  • NSW Liberal minister Andrew Constance has announced he will quit state politics and seek Liberal endorsement for Gilmore, NSW, currently held by Fiona Phillips

  • WA Liberal Vince Connelly, whose seat of Stirling has been abolished, has failed in a bid to replace Ian Goodenough as Liberal candidate in the neighbouring seat of Moore, WA.

  • Following the resignation of Christian Porter from the ministry in the wake of serious allegations against him, Prime Minister Morrison has reshuffled his ministry.

  • Former Labor Cabinet minister Joel Fitzgibbon has announced that he will not recontest the seat of Hunter, NSW. The Labor National Executive has endorsed former miner and Olympic shooter Daniel Repacholi as the Labor candidate.

  • NSW Labor Senator Kristina Keneally has announced that she will seek preselection for the vacant House of Representatives seat of Fowler, NSW. This will allow Senator Deb O'Neill to take the top spot on the NSW Labor Senate ticket.

  • WA Greens Senator Rachel Siewert has resigned, allowing Dorinda Cox to succeed her and become the lead Greens Senate candidate.

  • Former Queensland premier Campbell Newman will contest the Senate in Queensland for the Liberal Democrats (although under recent amendmemnts to the Electoral Act this party will no longer be able to use the word "liberal" in its title).

  • Craig Kelly, elected for Hughes, NSW as a Liberal in 2019, has joined Clive Palmer's United Australia Party.

  • Redistributions in Victoria and Western Australia have been finalised. The abolition of Stirling, WA (Liberal) and the creation of Hawke, Vic (Labor) have been confirmed. The proposed renaming of Corangamite, Vic (Labor) as Tucker has been abandoned. Proposed substantial changes to Higgins, Vic (Liberal) and Macnamara, Vic (Labor) have also been reversed.

  • Hon Barnaby Joyce, MP for New England, NSW, has regained the Nationals leadership and been sworn in as Deputy Prime Minister.

  • See also:

  • My guide to the 2019 federal election
  • My guide to the 2016 federal election
  • My guide to the 2018 Victorian election

    My Gallery of Members of the House of Representatives 1901-2021