Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Psephos: Adam Carr's Election Archive
Vicorian state election, 24 November 2018

The Legislative Assembly

The Victorian Legislative Assembly has 88 members, elected from single-member districts of approximately equal population by preferential voting.

At the Victorian state election of 29 November 2014, the Australian Labor Party led by Daniel Andrews won 47 seats, a gain of four seats compared with the results in 2010. The Liberal Party led by the then Premier, Dr Denis Napthine, won 30 seats, a loss of five, and the Nationals, led by then Deputy Premier Peter Ryan, won eight seats, a loss of two. The Australian Greens won two seats, a gain of two, and one independent was elected. The Napthine-Ryan government was therefore defeated and the Andrews government took office on 4 December.

After the election Napthine resigned as Liberal leader and was succeded by Matthew Guy. Ryan resigned as Nationals leader and was succeeded by Peter Walsh. Napthine, Ryan and the Liberal member Terry Mulder resigned from Parliament in 2015. At by-elections all were replaced by candidates of their respective parties. Fiona Richardson, Labor member for Northcote, died in August 2017. The subsequent by-election was won by the Greens.

At this election the Liberal-National coalition needs to win seven seats from Labor to gain a majority. (Or six if they regain Shepparton from the independent member.) To do that they need a uniform swing of 3.0%. If Labor loses two seats, it will lose its independent majority and will be dependent on the Greens to retain office.

  • See all 88 seats in alphabetical order
  • See all 88 seats in pendulum order
  • Legislative Assembly maps, showing results of 2014 election

  • Return to the main page