Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Adam Carr's Election Archive

Australian federal election, 2019
Division of Sturt, South Australia

< Stirling previous seat | next seat Swan >
Return to alphabetical list of seats

Eastern Adelaide: Glenunga, Highbury, Norwood, Rostrevor, Windsor Gardens
State seats: All of Dunstan and Hartley, parts of Bragg, Morialta and Torrens
Local government areas: All of Burnside and Campbelltown, parts of Adelaide Hills, Norwood Payneham and St Peters, Port Adelaide-Enfield, Tea Tree Gully and Unley
Enrolment at close of rolls: 123,833
1999 republic referendum: Ywes 53.7
2018 same-sex marriage survey: Yes 61.6

Sitting member: Hon Christopher Pyne (Liberal): Elected 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016. Retiring 2019

2007 Liberal majority over Labor: 0.9%
2010 Liberal majority over Labor: 3.4%
2013 Liberal majority over Labor: 10.1%
2016 Liberal majority over Labor: 5.9%
2019 notional Liberal majority over Labor: 5.8%

Status: Marginal Liberal

Best Liberal booths, two-party vote: Myrtle Bank PPVC (75.4), Beaumont (71.7), Stonyfell (71.6), Linden Park (70.1), Burnside (69.6)
Best Labor booths, two-party vote: Dulwich (65.9), College Park (61.1), Gilles Plains (60.4), Holden Hill (57.6), Hillcrest (56.0)

  • 2016 results
  • Statistics and history

  • Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    1. Paul Boundy
    Australian Greens
    2. James Stevens
    Liberal Party
    3. Cressida O'Hanlon
    Australian Labor Party
    4. Harbinda Roberts
    Animal Justice Party
    5. Hedley Harding
    United Australia Party
    6. Colin Thomas
    Child Protection Party
    7. Angela Fulco
    Australian Progressives
    8. Nick Larcombe

    Candidate websites:

    Paul Boundy
    Cressida O'Hanlon
    Nick Larcombe

    Division of Sturt

    Sturt was created in 1949, and has always occupied a block of territory in Adelaide's eastern suburbs, between the city and the hills. It includes some very wealthy areas in the south and in the fringes of the Adelaide Hills, but is mostly middle-class suburbia. There are a few Labor-voting areas in the north of the seat. Sturt combines a fairly high median family income level, a fairly high proportion of people in non English speaking households and a fairly high proportion of people in professional occupations.

    This is usually a dangerous combination for a Liberal member. But although Sturt has usually been a marginal seat, Labor has only won it twice, in 1954 and 1969. The 2018 redistribution has added some marginal territory around Norwood and St Peters, slightly reducing the Liberal majority.

    Christopher Pyne, Liberal MP for Sturt since 1993, was a 25-year-old solicitor and Liberal staffer when he succeeded the veteran former minister Ian Wilson. He had a long wait for promotion, but was a minister in the last term of the Howard Government. He survived a close call in Sturt in 2007, and was then Manager of Opposition Business in the House during the Coalition's term in opposition. He was Minister for Education, Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science and Minister for Defence Industry in the Abbott-Turnbull Government. During the Liberal leadership crisis in August 2018, he remained loyal to Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull until Turnbull's resignation, then switched his support to Scott Morrison. His reward was promotion to Defence Minister.

    In early March Pyne announced that he would not stand again at the May election. Although he has held Sturt for 25 years, Pyne is only 51 and was under no pressure to make way. His retirement was widely seen as an indication that he expects the Morrison government to be defeated.

    Without Pyne's personal vote and his formidable campaigning and fundraising skills, Sturt will become a winnable seat for Labor. The new Liberal candidate is James Stevens, chief of staff to SA Premier Steven Marshall, and Pyne's campaign manager and preferred successor. The Labor candidate will be Cressida O'Hanlon, a family dispute resolution practitioner. The Greens candidate is Paul Boundy, whose occupation is not stated.


    Median weekly household income: $1,328 (Australia $1,438)
    People over 65: 20.9% (Australia 15.8%)
    Australian born: 63.5% (Australia 66.7%)
    Ancestry: Italian 12.2%, Chinese 6.4%
    Non-English-speaking households: 31.8% (Australia 22.2%)
    Catholics 25.9% (Australia 22.6%)
    No religion 30.2% (Australia 29.6%)
    University graduates: 30.2% (Australia 22.0%)
    Professional and managerial employment: 41.8% (Australia 35.2%)
    Employed in manufacturing and construction: 19.8% (Australia 22.9%)
    Paying a mortgage: 32.1% (Australia 34.5%)
    Renting: 26.8% (Australia 30.9%)
    Traditional families: 31.9% (Australia 32.8%)


    Keith Wilson (Lib) 1949-54
    Hon Norman Makin (ALP) 1954-55
    Sir Keith Wilson (Lib) 1955-66
    Ian Wilson (Lib) 1966-69
    Norman Foster (ALP) 1969-72
    Hon Ian Wilson (Lib) 1972-93
    Hon Christopher Pyne (Lib) 1993-2019

    Boundaries following 2018 redistribution:

  • Back to main page