Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Adam Carr's Election Archive

Australian federal election, 2019
Division of Lyne, New South Wales

< Longman previous seat | next seat Lyons >
Return to alphabetical list of seats

North Coast New South Wales: Dungog, Forster, Gloucester, Taree, Wauchope
State seats: All of Myall Lakes, parts of Maitland, Oxley, Port Macquarie, Port Stephens and Upper Hunter
Local government areas: All of Dungog, Gloucester, Great Lakes and Greater Taree, parts of Maitland, Port Macquarie-Hastings and Port Stephens
Enrolment at close of rolls: 118,865
1999 republic referendum: No 61.6
2018 same-sex marriage survey: Yes 55.3

Sitting member: Hon Dr David Gillespie (Nationals): Elected 2013, 2016

2007 Nationals majority over Labor: 8.6%
2008 by-election Independent majority over Nationals: 23.9
2010 Independent majority over Nationals: 12.7%
2013 Nationals majority over Labor: 14.8%
2016 Nationals majority over Labor: 11.6%

Status: Fairly safe Nationals

  • 2016 results
  • Statistics and history

  • Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    1. Hon Phil Costa
    Australian Labor Party
    2. Hon Dr David Gillespie
    The Nationals
    3. Garry Bourke
    United Australia Party
    4. Ryan Goldspring
    Fraser Anning's Conservative
    National Party
    5. Dean McCrae
    Liberal Democrats
    6. Ed Caruana
    Australian Workers Party
    7. Jeremy Miller
    8. Catherine Zhao
    Christian Democratic Party
    9. Stuart Watson
    Australian Greens

    Candidate websites:

    Hon Phil Costa
    Hon Dr David Gillespie
    Jeremy Miller

    Division of Lyne

    Lyne was created in 1949, on the NSW north coast, running from Kempsey to Port Stephens. It has been cut back by successive redistributions as the coast has grown rapidly, and now consists largely of the Taree and Tuncurry-Forster areas, with some Maitland suburbs at its southern end. Although it contains a number of farming communities, it is mainly a tourism and retirement area: only 7.4% of its population are engaged in agriculture, while more than 27% are aged over 65, the highest proportion of any electorate. This combination gives it the second-lowest median household income of any electorate. It is also a very monocultural seat, with the second-lowest level of non English speaking households of any electorate.

    Until 2008, Lyne had been held by the Country Party and its successor the Nationals since it was created. Mark Vaile won it for the Nationals in 1993. He was a minister in the Howard Government and became Leader of the Nationals and Deputy Prime Minister on the retirement of John Anderson in 2005. He resigned his seat after the 2007 election defeat, and the by-election was won by Rob Oakeshott, an independent who had been state MP for Port Macquarie since 1996. After the 2010 election Oakeshott joined with Tony Windsor in supporting the minority Gillard Labor Government. He would have had little hope of retaining Lyne in 2013, and instead chose to retire.

    Dr David Gillespie, Nationals MP for Lyne since 2013, was a gastroenterologist and consultant physician, and also a farmer, before his election. The 2016 redistribution removed Port Macquarie from the seat, and instead extended it southwards to take in all the rural parts of Paterson, including Dungog, Tuncurry-Forster and some suburbs of Maitland. The Nationals majority was slightly reduced, but Gillespie easily retained the seat in 2016. He is now Assistant Minister for Children and Families.

    The Labor candidate in 2019 will be Phil Costa, former MLA for Wollondilly and state minister.


    Median weekly household income: $967 (Australia $1,438)
    People over 65: 27.6% (Australia 15.8%)
    Indigenous: 5.5% (Australia 2.8%)
    Australian born: 83.2% (Australia 66.7%)
    Non-English-speaking households: 3.6% (Australia 22.2%)
    Catholics 20.2% (Australia 22.6%)
    No religion 23.8% (Australia 29.6%)
    University graduates: 11.0% (Australia 22.0%)
    Professional and managerial employment: 29.0% (Australia 35.2%)
    Employed in manufacturing and construction: 26.1% (Australia 22.9%)
    Employed in agriculture: 7.4% (Australia 3.3%)
    Paying a mortgage: 27.6% (Australia 34.5%)
    Renting: 22.7% (Australia 30.9%)
    Traditional families: 23.6% (Australia 32.8%)


    Jim Eggins (CP) 1949-52
    Philip Lucock (CP, NCP) 1952b-80
    Bruce Cowan (NCP, NPA) 1980-93
    Hon Mark Vaile (NPA) 1993-2008
    Rob Oakeshott (Ind) 2008-13
    Hon Dr David Gillespie (Nat) 2013-

    Boundaries following 2016 redistribution:

  • Back to main page