Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Adam Carr's Election Archive

Australian federal election, 2019
Division of Forrest, Western Australia

< Forde previous seat | next seat Fowler >
Return to alphabetical list of seats

South-western Western Australia: Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Harvey, Margaret River
State seats: All of Bunbury and Vasse, parts of Collie-Preston, Murray-Wellington and Warren-Blackwood
Local government areas: All of Augusta-Margaret River, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Dardanup, Donnybrook-Balingup, Harvey and Nannup
Enrolment at close of rolls: 105,421
1999 republic referendum: No 65.1
2018 same-sex marriage survey: Yes 63.8

Sitting member: Nola Marino (Liberal): Elected 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016

2007 Liberal majority over Labor: 5.8%
2010 Liberal majority over Labor: 8.7%
2013 Liberal majority over Labor: 12.3%
2016 Liberal majority over Labor: 12.6%

Status: Safe Liberal

  • 2016 results
  • Statistics and history

  • Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    1. Nerilee Boshammer
    Australian Greens
    2. Mark McCall
    Shooters, Fishers and Farmers
    3. Nola Marino
    Liberal Party
    4. Kalven Jamieson
    Pauline Hanson's One Nation
    5. Alexander Marsden
    6. Ian Molyneaux
    Western Australian Party
    7. Wayne Sanford
    Australian Labor Party
    8. Dale Bromley
    United Australia Party

    Candidate websites:

    Nerilee Boshammer
    Nola Marino
    Wayne Sanford

    Division of Forrest

    Forrest was created in 1922, occupying the rural south-western corner of WA, whose largest centre is Bunbury. Although this is still a largely agricultural area, tourism is becoming an increasingly important industry, employing 5.9% of the workforce. Forrest has the typical characteristics of a rural seat: low median icome level, low level of people from non English speaking countries and low proportion of people in professional occupations.

    Forrest has a usually been a safe seat for the non-Labor parties: Labor has only won it three times, most recently in 1969. Before 1949 it was usually a Country Party seat but the Nationals are no longer a serious threat to Liberal dominance. Members for Forrest have included Labor Cabinet minister Nelson Lemmon and Liberal Cabinet minister Gordon Freeth.

    Nola Marino, Liberal MP for Forrest since 2007, was a small business owner in Harvey before her election. She has been Chief Government Whip since October 2015.

    The Labor candidate is Wayne Sanford, a former miner, a Collie Shire councillor for 16 years, and Collie Shire President for ten years.The Greens candidate in 2019 will be Nerilee Boshammer, a professional resources manager until recently with the South West Catchments Council.


    Median weekly household income: $1,361 (Australia $1,438)
    People over 65: 16.6% (Australia 15.8%)
    Indigenous: 2.2% (Australia 2.8%)
    Australian born: 72.6% (Australia 66.7%)
    Non-English-speaking households: 8.5% (Australia 22.2%)
    Catholics 19.2% (Australia 22.6%)
    No religion 36.0% (Australia 29.6%)
    University graduates: 13.6% (Australia 22.0%)
    Professional and managerial employment: 26.9% (Australia 35.2%)
    Employed in manufacturing and construction: 31.5% (Australia 22.9%)
    Employed in agriculture: 6.3% (Australia 3.3%)
    Paying a mortgage: 38.5% (Australia 34.5%)
    Renting: 27.0% (Australia 30.9%)
    Traditional families: 31.7% (Australia 32.8%)


    John Prowse (CP) 1922-43
    Hon Nelson Lemmon (ALP) 1943-49
    Hon Gordon Freeth (Lib) 1949-69
    Frank Kirwan (ALP) 1969-72
    Peter Drummond (Lib) 1972-87
    Hon Geoff Prosser (Lib) 1987-2007
    Nola Marino (Lib) 2007-

    Boundaries following 2016 redistribution:

  • Back to main page