Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Adam Carr's Election Archive

Australian federal election, 2019
Division of Moreton, Queensland

< Moore previous seat | next seat New England >
Return to alphabetical list of seats

Southside Brisbane: Graceville, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sunnybank, Yeronga
State seats: Parts of Algester, Miller, Mount Ommaney, Stretton and Toohey
Local government areas: Parts of Brisbane
Enrolment at close of rolls: 102,758
1999 republic referendum: No 52.1
2018 same-sex marriage survey: Yes 60.9

Sitting member: Graham Perrett (Labor): Elected 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016

2007 Labor majority over Liberal: 4.7%
2010 Labor majority over Liberal: 1.1%
2013 Labor majority over Liberal: 1.6%
2016 Labor majority over Liberal: 3.8%
2019 notional Labor majority over Liberal: 4.0%

Status: Marginal Labor

  • 2016 results
  • Statistics and history

  • Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    1. Aaron Nieass
    Fraser Anning's Conservative
    National Party
    2. Graham Perrett
    Australian Labor Party
    3. Patsy O'Brien
    Australian Greens
    4. William Lawrence
    Pauline Hanson's One Nation
    5. Angela Owen
    Liberal Party
    6. Jenny-Rebecca Brown
    United Australia Party

    Candidate websites:

    Graham Perrett
    Patsy O'Brien
    Angela Owen

    Division of Moreton

    Moreton has existed since Federation, although its boundaries have varied greatly over that time - it was orginally based on Ipswich. Since 1949 it has been a southern Brisbane suburban seat, initially safe for the Liberal Party but growing more marginal as these areas declined in socio-economic terms and grew more multicultural. Although it has a relatively high level of median family income, a significant sign of social change is that it has Queensland's highest proportion of non English speaking households, mainly due to an influx of Chinese immigrants. This suggests that the seat is becoming an inner city multuicultural seat rather than a suburban mortgage belt seat.

    Members for Moreton have included long-serving conservative ministers Sir Josiah Francis and Sir James Killen. Garrie Gibson, the first Labor member for Moreton since 1906, was defeated in the Howard landslide of 1996. His successor, Gary Hardgrave, was a junior minister in the Howard Government, but was defeated in the Rudd sweep of Queensland seats in 2007.

    Graham Perrett, MP for Moreton since 2007, was a teacher and an organiser with the Queensland Independent Education Union before his election. He was narrowly re-elected in 2010 and 2013. This is a still a marginal seat, but having survived Labor's defeat Perrett gained a modest swing towards him in 2016. He is currently Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Attorney-General.

    The Liberal candidate is Angela Owen, a Brisbane City councillor. The Greens candidate is Patsy O'Brien, a business manager.


    Median weekly household income: $1,601 (Australia $1,438)
    People over 65: 12.8% (Australia 15.8%)
    Australian born: 54.4% (Australia 66.7%)
    Ancestry: Chinese 12.2%
    Non-English-speaking households: 36.7% (Australia 22.2%)
    Catholics 18.4% (Australia 22.6%)
    No religion 32.7% (Australia 29.6%)
    University graduates: 33.5% (Australia 22.0%)
    Professional and managerial employment: 40.2% (Australia 35.2%)
    Employed in manufacturing and construction: 17.9% (Australia 22.9%)
    Paying a mortgage: 32.6% (Australia 34.5%)
    Renting: 34.0% (Australia 30.9%)
    Traditional families: 35.1% (Australia 32.8%)


    Hon James Wilkinson (Ind, Lab) 1901-06
    Hugh Sinclair (AS, Lib, Nat) 1906-19
    Arnold Wienholt (Nat) 1919-22
    Hon Sir Josiah Francis (Nat, UAP, Lib) 1922-55
    Hon Sir James Killen (Lib) 1955-83
    Donald Cameron (Lib) 1983b-90
    Garrie Gibson (ALP) 1990-96
    Hon Gary Hardgrave (Lib) 1996-2007
    Graham Perrett (ALP) 2007-

    Boundaries following 2018 redistribution:

  • Back to main page