Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Adam Carr's Election Archive

Australian federal election, 2019
Division of Mallee, Victoria

< Makin previous seat | next seat Maranoa >
Return to alphabetical list of seats

Northern Victoria: Horsham, Kerang, Mildura, Maryborough, Swan Hill
State seats: All of Mildura, parts of Bendigo East, Lowan, Murray Plains and Ripon
Local government areas: All of Buloke, Central Goldfields, Gannawarra, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Loddon, Mildura, Swan Hill, West Wimmera and Yarrambiack, parts of Northern Grampians and Pyrenees
Enrolment at close of rolls: 113,778
1999 republic referendum: No 71.2
2018 same-sex marriage survey: Yes 54.3

Sitting member: Hon Andrew Broad (Nationals): Elected 2013, 2016. Retiring 2019

2007 Nationals majority over Labor: 21.3%
2010 Nationals majority over Labor: 24.4%
2013 Nationals majority over Liberal: 6.2%
2016 Nationals majority over Labor: 21.3%
2019 notional Nationals majority over Labor: 19.8%

Status: Very safe Nationals

  • 2016 results
  • Statistics and history

  • Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    1. Serge Petrovich
    Liberal Party
    2. Cecilia Moar
    3. Jason Modica
    4. Rick Grosvenor
    Fraser Anning's Conservative
    National Party
    5. Dr Anne Webster
    The Nationals
    6. Chris Lahy
    Citizens Electoral Council
    7. Philip Mollison
    Rise Up Australia
    8. Carole Hart
    Australian Labor Party
    9. Leigh Firman
    Science Party
    10. Ray Kingston
    11. Dan Straub
    Shooters, Fishers and Farmers
    12. Rick Millar
    United Australia Party
    13. Nicole Rowan
    Australian Greens

    Candidate websites:

    Ray Kingston
    Serge Petrovich
    Nicole Rowan
    Dr Anne Webster

    Division of Mallee

    Mallee was created in 1949, from the northern part of the Federation seat of Wimmera. Wimmera was abolished in 1977 and Mallee now has nearly identical borders to the old seat. It covers the north-western quarter of Victoria, including the Murray Valley and the wheat country of the Wimmera. It has one of the highest proportions of its workforce engaged in agriculture of any seat, and like all such seats it has a relatively low median family income level and a low proportion of people born in non English speaking countries, although it has a surprisingly high proportion of people in professional occupations.

    Mallee has always been a safe seat for the Country Party and its successor the Nationals, although the Liberals nearly pinched it in 1993 and again in 2013. It was the safest Coalition seat in Australia, but the inclusion of the Labor town of Maryborough at the 2018 redistribution has slightly reduced the Nationals majority. Despite their security, until 2018 none of the Country / Nationals members for Mallee had ever been promoted from the backbench.

    Andrew Broad, Nationals MP for Mallee since 2013, was a wheat and sheep farmer and president of the Victorian Farmers Federation before his election. Having narrowly survived a Liberal challenge in 2013, he appeared to be safe. In August 2018 he was appointed Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister. But in December it was revealed that Broad (a married man) had been using taxpayer-funded travel for sexual liaisons with a woman in Hong Kong he had contacted online. He immediately resigned from the ministry and announced that he would not recontest Mallee.

    The new Nationals candidate in Mallee is Dr Anne Webster, a Mildura sociologist. Although the seat is in no danger of falling to Labor, the Nationals could be vulnerable either to a Liberal or a local independent. (The state seat of Mildura was won by an independent at the November state election.) In February three independents announced candidacies: former Yarriambiack mayor Ray Kingston, former Victorian rural woman of the year Cecilia Moar and Mildura Rural City councillor Jason Modica. The Liberal candidate is Serge Patrovich, a lawyer and former police officer. The Labor candidate is Carole Hart, a community worker. The Greens candidate is Nicole Rowan, a tax lawyer. The Science Party candidate, Leigh Firman, is a professional gardener.


    Median weekly household income: $1,083 (Australia $1,438)
    People over 65: 21.5% (Australia 15.8%)
    Indigenous: 2.8% (Australia 2.8%)
    Australian born: 81.6% (Australia 66.7%)
    Non-English-speaking households: 8.0% (Australia 22.2%)
    Catholics 20.6% (Australia 22.6%)
    No religion 30.0% (Australia 29.6%)
    University graduates: 10.1% (Australia 22.0%)
    Professional and managerial employment: 33.7% (Australia 35.2%)
    Employed in manufacturing and construction: 19.6% (Australia 22.9%)
    Employed in agriculture: 22.6% (Australia 3.3%)
    Paying a mortgage: 29.9% (Australia 34.5%)
    Renting: 25.7% (Australia 30.9%)
    Traditional families: 25.8% (Australia 32.8%)


    Sir Winton Turnbull (CP) 1949-72
    Peter Fisher (CP, NCP, NPA) 1972-93
    John Forrest (NPA) 1993-2013
    Andrew Broad (Nat) 2013-19

    Boundaries following 2018 redistribution:

  • Back to main page