Psephos - Adam Carr's Election Archive

Albania, Andorra, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Cambodia, Canada, Chad, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, Senegal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United States, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Adam Carr's Election Archive

Australian federal election, 2019
Division of Eden-Monaro, New South Wales

< Durack previous seat | next seat Fadden >
Return to alphabetical list of seats

Southern New South Wales: Bega, Cooma, Queanbeyan, Tumut, Yass
State seats: All of Monaro, parts of Albury, Bega, Goulburn and Wagga Wagga
Local government areas: All of Bega Valley, Bombala, Cooma-Monaro, Palerang, Queanbeyan, Snowy River, Tumbarumba, Tumut and Yass Valley, parts of Eurobodalla
Enrolment at close of rolls: 114,140
1999 republic referendum: No 53.9
2018 same-sex marriage survey: Yes 64.9

Sitting member: Hon Dr Mike Kelly AM (Labor): Elected 2007, 2010. Defeated 2013. Elected 2016

2007 Labor majority over Liberal: 3.4%
2010 Labor majority over Liberal: 4.2%
2013 Liberal majority over Labor: 0.6%
2016 Labor majority over Liberal: 2.9%

Status: Very marginal Labor

Best Liberal booths, two-party vote: Tooma (90.8), Jingellic (76.9), Dalgety (64.8), Thredbo (62.1), Jindabyne PPCV (60.3)
Best Labor booths, two-party vote: Towamba (71.9), Wyndham (71.7), Tanja (70.9), Quaama (67.3), Majors Creek (66.7)

  • 2016 results
  • Statistics and history

  • Candidates in ballot-paper order:

    1. Hon Dr Mike Kelly AM
    Australian Labor Party
    2. Dr Fiona Kotvojs
    Liberal Labor Party
    3. Patrick McGinlay
    Australian Greens
    4. David Sheldon
    5. Sophie Wade
    The Nationals
    6. Thomas Harris
    Christian Democratic Party
    7. Chandra Singh
    United Australia Party
    8. James Holgate

    Candidate websites:

    Hon Dr Mike Kelly AM
    Dr Fiona Kotvojs
    Patrick McGinlay
    Sophie Wade

    Division of Eden-Monaro

    Eden-Monaro has existed since Federation, and has always occupied the south-eastern corner of NSW. For most of its history it was a seat based on farming, fishing and timber, but the growth of the Canberra dormitory town of Queanbeyan means that today the largest employment sector is government employment (20.3%), including a substantial Defence vote, while only 6.3% of the population work in agriculture - fewer than the 10% who work in tourism. Nevertheless the electorate is still sensitive to rural issues, and particularly on its current boundaries, which take in rrual areas around Tumut and Yass.

    Eden-Monaro was usually a safe conservative seat until 1943, when it was won for Labor by Allan Fraser, who held it until his defeat in 1966, and again from 1969 to 1972. Labor held the seat again from 1983 to 1996: this is one of the few country seats where Labor's base vote has held up.

    Gary Nairn won the seat for the Liberals in 1996, and was a minister in the Howard government. He was defeated in 2007 by Dr Mike Kelly, a former Australian Army officer and lawyer with a distinguished record. Kelly was a minister in the Rudd-Gillard government, but was defeated in 2013 by Dr Peter Hendy, Chief Executive of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry. In 2015 Hendy was one of the organisers of Malcolm Turnbull's party-room coup against Tony Abbott, and was subsequently appointed Assistant Minister for Productivity and later Assistant Minister for Finance. In 2016 Kelly won a return bout against Hendy, despite a redistribution which favoured the Liberals.

    Dr Mike Kelly AM, Labor MP for Eden-Monaro 2007-13 and since 2016, was an Australian Army officer for 20 years until 2007, serving in Iraq and Somalia, and has a PhD in international law. He was Parliamentary Secretary for Defence and for Water in the Rudd and Gillard governments, and Minister for Defence Materiel in the second Rudd government. He is currently Shadow Assistant Minister for Defence Industry and Support.

    The Liberal candidate will be Dr Fiona Kotvojs, a beef farmer and small businesswoman with a doctorate in education. The Nationals will also contest the seat, with Yass Valley businesswoman Sophie Wade as their candidate. The Greens candidate is Patrick McGinlay, a personal care worker in the aged care sector and a Eurobodalla Shire councillor.


    Median weekly household income: $1,349 (Australia $1,438)
    People over 65: 18.7% (Australia 15.8%)
    Indigenous: 3.2% (Australia 2.8%)
    Australian born: 77.9% (Australia 66.7%)
    Non-English-speaking households: 8.9% (Australia 22.2%)
    Catholics 23.8% (Australia 22.6%)
    No religion 29.6% (Australia 29.6%)
    University graduates: 18.2% (Australia 22.0%)
    Professional and managerial employment: 34.0% (Australia 35.2%)
    Employed in manufacturing and construction: 23.2% (Australia 22.9%)
    Employed in agriculture: 8.4% (Australia 3.3%)
    Paying a mortgage: 34.3% (Australia 34.5%)
    Renting: 24.9% (Australia 30.9%)
    Traditional families: 29.0% (Australia 32.8%)


    Hon Sir Austin Chapman (Prot, Lib, Nat) 1901-26
    Hon John Perkins (Nat) 1926b-29
    John Cusack (ALP) 1929-31
    Hon John Perkins (UAP) 1931-43
    Allan Fraser (ALP) 1943-66
    Dugald Munro (Lib) 1966-69
    Allan Fraser (ALP) 1969-72
    Bob Whan (ALP) 1972-75
    Murray Sainsbury (Lib) 1975-83
    Jim Snow (ALP) 1983-96
    Hon Gary Nairn (Lib) 1996-2007
    Hon Dr Mike Kelly (ALP) 2007-13
    Hon Dr Peter Hendy (Lib) 2013-16
    Hon Dr Mike Kelly (ALP) 2016-

    Boundaries following 2016 redistribution:

  • Back to main page