Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The House of Representatives

New South Wales

Division of Warringah


Tony Abbott (Lib)

His ministerial
, his
Liberal Party
and his
campaign website

Hugh Zochling (ALP)

His ALP website

Dr Connie Harris (Grn)

Her Greens website

Georgina Johanson (Dem)

Her Democrats website

Dr Patricia Petersen (Ind)

No website
Location: Sydney: Balgowlah, Dee Why, Manly, Mosman
Division named for: Warringah region of northern Sydney, an Indigenous word meaning "across the waves"
Median weekly family income: $1,612 (4th highest)
Persons born in non English speaking countries: 13.7% (56th highest)
Persons in professional occupations: 41.6% (12th highest)
Persons aged 65 and over: 14.4% (44th highest)
Couple families with dependent children: 38.6% (67th highest)
Dwellings being purchased: 19.7% (133rd highest)
Dwellings are flat, unit or apartment: 42.7% (7th highest)
Sitting member: Hon Tony Abbott (Liberal), elected 1994by, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004
Born: 4 November 1957, Britain. Career: Journalist, press secretary and political adviser to the Leader of the Opposition, Dr John Hewson MHR 1990-93, Executive Director Australians for Constitutional Monarchy 1993-94. Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Employment, Education, Training and Youth Affairs 1996-98, Minister for Employment Services 1998-2001, Minister for Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business 2001, Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations 2001-03
Minister for Health and Ageing from 7 October 2003
1996 two-party majority: Liberal 15.3
1998 two-party majority: Liberal 13.0
Effect of 2006 redistribution: 00.2 shift to Labor
2001 two-party majority: Liberal over Independent 12.7
2004 primary votes: Labor 25.6, Liberal 54.5, Green 11.8
2004 two-party majority: Liberal 10.5
Effect of 2006 redistribution: 00.8 shift to Liberal
2007 notional two-party majority: Liberal 11.3
2004 enrolment: 85,347
2007 enrolment: 94,253 (+10.4%) (new boundaries)
Warringah was created in 1922, covering the eastern part of Sydney's North Shore, based on Manly. Subsequent redistributions have reduced the seat in size without changing its social or political character. It is one of the wealthiest electorates in Australia, with very high median income levels and a high proportion of people in professional occupations. It is also a ageing electorate, with a high proportion of over-65s and a relatively low proportion of families with dependent children. It has a very low proportion of dwellings being purchased, since most people either own their homes or live in flats. In 2004 the Liberals carried every booth, and polled 70% of the two-party vote in Beauty Point. They polled over 65% in Balgowlah Heights, Balmoral, Frenchs Forest, Forrestville, Killarney Heights and Seaforth East, while Labor polled best in Manly, Curl Curl and Cremorne. The Manly area has a long history of voting for independents, and in 2001 the former state member, Dr Peter McDonald, came second in this seat. Warringah itself elected an independent (Percy Spender) in 1937, but apart from that has been loyal to the major non-Labor parties since its creation. It is however seeing the same slow drift to Labor that other upper-middle class seats are seeing. Tony Abbott won Warringah for the Liberals at a 1994 by-election. Abbott, a former journalist, has enjoyed the favour of the Prime Minister and been promoted rapidly since 1996. After a stint at Employment and Workplace Relations he has been Minister for Health and Ageing since 2003.
Candidates in ballot-paper order
  • Tony Abbott (Liberal) is the sitting member: see biography above.
  • Dr Connie Harris (Greens) works at Mona Vale Hospital.
  • Georgina Johanson (Democrats) is a radiographer at the Mater Hospital, Crows Nest.
  • Dr Patricia Petersen (Independent), has a PhD in the philosophy of sex and has been a relationships expert on Sydney commercial radio.
  • Goronwy Price (Conservatives for Climate and Environment) is a software engineer.
  • Hugh Zochling (Labor) is executive director of an investment company.
  • Bill McCudden (Christian Democrat) is a carpenter.

    Campaign news
    Challenge to Abbott (Petersen)

    Candidates on YouTube
    Tony Abbott


    Two-party vote by booth, 2004 Click to enlarge map

    Two-party swing by booth, 2004 Click to enlarge map

    Members for Warringah

    Return to front page
    Return to NSW seats index