Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The House of Representatives

New South Wales

Division of Throsby


Jennie George (ALP)

Her ALP websiteand
her campaign website

Stuart Wright (Lib)

His Liberal Party

Peter Moran (Grn)

His Greens website
Location: South Coast NSW: Albion Rail, Dapto, Port Kembla, Shellharbour
Division named for: Charles Throsby, explorer, the first white man to see the site of Canberra
Median weekly family income: $866 (90th highest)
Persons born in non English speaking countries: 13.3% (59th highest)
Persons in professional occupations: 16.0% (143rd highest)
Persons aged 65 and over: 12.4% (89th highest)
Couple families with dependent children: 38.3% (74th highest)
Dwellings being purchased: 26.7% (67th highest)
Sitting member: Jennie George (Labor), elected 2001, 2004
Born: 20 August 1947, Italy (of Russian parents). Career: School teacher, General Secretary NSW Teachers' Federation 1980-82, President 1986-89. Assistant National Director Trade Union Training Authority 1989-91, Assistant Secretary Australian Council of Trade Unions 1991-96, President 1996-2000. Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry since 2004
Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Environment and Heritage from 26 October 2004
1996 two-party majority: Labor 19.6
1998 two-party majority: Labor 22.5
Effect of 2001 redistribution: no change
2001 two-party majority: Labor 15.2
2004 primary votes: Labor 56.3, Liberal 31.0, Green 10.1
2004 two-party majority: Labor 15.0
Effect of 2006 redistribution: 01.1 shift to Liberal
2007 notional two-party majority: Labor 13.9
2004 enrolment: 87,318
2007 enrolment: 88,501 (+01.4%) (new boundaries)
Throsby was created in 1984, taking in the southern part of the Illawarra mining and industrial area, centered on Port Kembla. It is a heavily working-class seat, with a relatively low level of median family income, a very low level of people in professional occupations, and a fairly high proportion of people born in non English speaking countries. In 2004 Labor carried every booth, all but five of them with more than 60% of the two-party vote. In the three Berkeley booths, two Port Kembla booths and two Warrawong booths, Labor polled more than 70%. The Liberals' best result was 43% in Shellharbour. Former ACTU President Jennie George has held Throsby since 2001. The 2006 redistribution has slightly weakened Throsby for Labor but it remains a safe seat.
Candidates in ballot-paper order
  • Peter Moran (Greens) is a tour bus driver.
  • Jennie George (Labor) is the sitting member: see biography above.
  • Scott Deakes (Christian Democrat) is a student.
  • Stuart Wright (Liberal) is general manager of a mechanical engineering consultancy firm.

    Members for Thosby

    Return to front page
    Return to NSW seats index