Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The House of Representatives

New South Wales

Division of Gilmore


Joanna Gash (Lib)

Her Liberal Party
and her
campaign website

Neil Reilly (ALP)

His ALP website

Kevin Ramsey (LDP)

His Liberty and Democracy website

Ben van der Wijngaart (Grn)

His Greens website
Location: South Coast NSW: Bateman's Bay, Kiama, Milton, Nowra
Division named for: Dame Mary Gilmore, poet
Median weekly family income: $655 (145th highest)
Persons born in non English speaking countries: 4.7% (112th highest)
Persons in professional occupations: 22.1% (109th highest)
Persons aged 65 and over: 19.8% (3rd highest)
Couple families with dependent children: 31.7% (141st highest)
Dwellings being purchased: 20.3% (126th highest)
Sitting member: Joanna Gash (Liberal), elected 996, 1998, 2001, 2004
Born: 21 July 1944, Netherlands. Career: Guest house co-proprietor, Regional Manager Tourism Commission of NSW, Director Southern Highlands Tourism Agency, Consultant Macarthur Country Tourist Association. Councillor, Wingecarribee Shire Council
Deputy Government Whip from 23 November 2001
1996 two-party majority: Liberal 06.2
1998 two-party majority: Liberal 04.0
Effect of 2001 redistribution: 00.5 shift to Liberal
2001 two-party majority: Liberal 14.7
2004 primary votes: Labor 31.0, Liberal 54.6, Green 7.8
2004 two-party majority: Liberal 10.1
Effect of 2006 redistribution: 00.6 shift to Labor
2007 notional two-party majority: Liberal 09.5
2004 enrolment: 87,620
2007 enrolment: 87,536 (-00.1%) (new boundaries)
Gilmore was created in 1984, originally as a country seat running inland from the coast to Goulburn. The 1993 redistribution turned it into a coastal seat based on Nowra and Kiama. On those boundaries it was a marginal seat, but it has grown safer for the Liberals since 1996. It is now mainly a farming, tourism and retirement seat, with a the country's third-highest proportion of over-65s and low levels of median family income, families with dependent children and dwellings being purchased. In 2004 the Liberals carried every booth except Erowal Bay and Manyana, polling 70% of the two-party vote in some rural booths (73% in Avoca). Nowra voted solidly Liberal, Kiama marginally so. The 2006 redistribution has removed Liberal-voting Moss Vale and addded marginally Liberal Bateman's Bay. Members for Gilmore have been John Sharp (National) 1984-93, Peter Knott (Labor) 1993-96, and Joanna Gash (Liberal) since 1996. Knott was a notably eccentric candidate, and his attempt to regain the seat in 2001 produced the biggest swing to the Liberals of any seat in Australia: the 4.6% swing to Labor in 2004 was mainly a correction after that unusual result. Gash turns 63 this year, but there has been no public suggestion that she will retire. Although this seat elected a Labor MP as recently as 1993, it seems now to be secure for the Liberals against all but the largest swings.
Candidates in ballot-paper order
  • Joanna Gash (Liberal) is the sitting member: see biography above.
  • Simon Blake (Conservatives for Climate and Environment) is an engineer.
  • Neil Reilly (Labor) works in advertising and has recently completed a degree in international relations.
  • Ben van der Wijngaart (Greens) served 33 years in the RAAF. He is now a Kiama consultant.
  • Of The Above None (Independent) is a farmer.
  • Brett Greenhalgh (Family First) is a forklift driver.
  • Warwick Hunt (CEC) is retired.
  • Bohdan Brumerskij (Christian Democrat) is a salesman.
  • Kevin Ramsey (Liberty and Democracy) teaches community services at a tertiary level.

    Candidates on YouTube
    Joanna Gash
    Neil Reilly


    Two-party vote by booth, 2004 Click to enlarge map

    Two-party swing by booth, 2004 Click to enlarge map

    Members for Gilmore

    Return to front page
    Return to NSW seats index