Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The House of Representatives


Division of Scullin


Harry Jenkins (ALP)

His ALP website
and his campaign website

Charles Williams (Lib)

His Liberal Party website

Tania Byers (FF)

Her Family First website
Peter Hude (AD)

His Democrats

Linda Laos (Grn)

Her Greens website
Location: Melbourne: Epping, Lalor, Mill Park, Thomastown
Division named for: Rt Hon James Scullin, Prime Minister of Australia 1929-32
Median weekly family income: $955 (63rd highest)
Persons born in non English speaking countries: 29.6% (14th highest)
Persons in professional occupations: 16.4% (140th highest)
Persons employed in manufacturing: 22.3% (4th highest)
Persons aged 65 and over: 7.9% (132nd highest)
Couple families with dependent children: 46.2% (12th highest)
Dwellings being purchased: 30.4% (43rd highest)
Sitting member: Harry Jenkins (Labor) 1986by, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004
Born: 18 August 1952, Melbourne. Career: Public servant. Councillor, Whittlesea Shire Council 1979-86, President 1984-85
1996 two-party majority: Labor 20.7
1998 two-party majority: Labor 21.8
2001 two-party majority: Labor 19.2
Effect of 2004 redistribution: 01.1 shift to Labor
2004 primary votes: Labor 59.0, Liberal 30.9, Green 5.0
2004 two-party majority: Labor 14.8
2004 enrolment: 86,008
2007 enrolment: 88,924 (+03.4%)
Scullin was created in 1969, when the old seat of Darebin in the northern working-class suburbs of Melbourne was renamed (there was an earlier seat of Scullin in a different part of Melbourne). The seat was originally based on Preston and Reservoir, but successive redistribution have pushed it northwards so that now it contains none of its 1969 territory. It is still a working-class seat, with a high proportion of its workforce engaged in manufacturing, and also a high proportion born in non English speaking countries. It is thus a low-income mortgage belt seat, with many a high level of young families with dependent children and dwellings being purchased in new suburbs such as Epping, Lalor and Mill Park. In 2004 Labor polled over 70% of the two-party vote at the six booths in Lalor and the four booths in Thomastown, and over 60% at the three Epping booths, while the Liberals polled 63% at Plenty. Scullin has always been a safe Labor seat, and has been represented by the Jenkins family since 1969. Dr Harry Jenkins was Speaker of the House during the first Hawke government. His son Harry Jenkins has held the seat since 1986, and is now Second Deputy Speaker. If Labor wins this year's election, Jenkins will probably be elected Speaker, becoming the first person to succeed his father in the post. Jenkins survived a preselection challenge in 2006, and if Labor does not win, this will probably be his last election.
Candidates in ballot-paper order
  • Tania Byers (Family First) works in child care.
  • Simon Steer (CEC) is a manager.
  • Charles Williams (Liberal) is an accountant and is active in the Salvation Army.
  • Peter Hude (Democrats) is a call-centre operator.
  • Harry Jenkins (Labor) is the sitting member: see biography above.
  • Linda Laos (Greens) is a teacher.


    Two-party vote by booth, 2004 Click to enlarge map

    Two-party swing by booth, 2004 Click to enlarge map

    Members for Scullin

    (includes Darebin 1949-69)

    Return to front page
    Return to Victorian seats index