Adam Carr's guide to
The 2007 Australian federal election

The House of Representatives

South Australia

Division of Mayo


Alexander Downer (Lib)

His Liberal Party
, his
ministerial website
and his campaign website

Mary Brewerton (ALP)

Her ALP website and
her campaign website

Andrew Castrique (Dem)

His Democrats website

Trish Nolan (FF)

Her Family First website

Lynton Vonow (Grn)

His Greens website
Location: East of Adelaide: Lobethal, Mt Barker, Strathalbyn, Victor Harbor
Division named for: Helen Mayo, first woman elected to a university council in Australia
Median weekly family income: $895 (78th highest)
Persons born in non English speaking countries: 4.9% (107th highest)
Persons in professional occupations: 30.8% (35th highest)
Persons aged 65 and over: 12.8% (82nd highest)
Couple families with dependent children: 39.8% (50th highest)
Dwellings being purchased: 36.0% (20th highest)
Sitting member: Hon Alexander Downer (Liberal), elected 1984, 1987, 1990, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004
Born: 9 September 1951, Adelaide. Career: Australian Diplomatic Service 1976-82, Political Adviser to Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser 1982-83, Director Australian Chamber of Commerce 1983-84. Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry 1987, 1988-89 and 1990-96. Shadow Minister for the Arts, Heritage and the Environment 1987, Shadow Minister for Housing and Small Business 1988-89, Shadow Minister for Trade and Trade Negotiations 1990-92, Shadow Minister for Defence 1992-93, Shadow Treasurer 1993-94, Leader of the Opposition 1994-95, Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs 1995-96. Leader of the Liberal Party 1994-95
Minister for Foreign Affairs from 11 March 1996
1996 two-party majority: Liberal 15.2
1998 two-party majority: Liberal over Democrat 01.5
Effect of 2001 redistribution: cannot be calculated
2001 two-party majority: Liberal 12.9
Effect of 2004 redistribution: 01.4 shift to Liberal
2004 primary votes: Labor 16.5, Liberal 53.6, Green 7.6, Independent 15.1
2004 two-party majority: Liberal over Independent 11.8
2004 enrolment: 91,418
2007 enrolment: 96,401 (+05.5%)
Mayo was created in 1984, in the Adelaide Hills area east of Adelaide. This is one of the wealthiest suburban areas in Australia, and the seat has always been very safe for the Liberal Party. On its current boundaries, however, the seat extends southwards to take in the farming areas of the Flerieu Peninsula and and Kangaroo Island, and the retirement centre of Victor Harbor. These areas lower the overall median family income of the seat, without much affecting it politically. In 2004 the Liberals carried every booth except Norton Summit, most of them by wide margins, polling 79% of the two-candidate vote at Langhorne Creek against the independent candidate who came second in the two-candidate count. Mayo used to be one of the Australian Democrats' best seats, and in 1990 and again in 1998 they gave the Liberals a scare, nearly stealing the seat on Labor preferences. With the collapse of the Democrats, however, the Liberals can feel more secure, although a strong Green or independent candidate could be a threat. Mayo has had only one member, Alexander Downer (Liberal), whose father Sir Alexander Downer represented much the same area as member for Angas 1949-64. Downer had a good record as a shadow minister in the 1980s, and in 1994, following the demise of John Hewson, was elected party leader. He proved a failure and resigned in 1995. His successor John Howard appointed him Foreign Minister in March 2006, and he is now Australia's longest-serving Foreign Minister.
Candidates in ballot-paper order
  • Lynton Vonow (Greens) is a former science teacher and now works as a laboratory manager.
  • Alexander Downer (Liberal) is the sitting member: see biography above.
  • Trish Nolan (Family First) works for the finance department for a national construction company.
  • Andrew Castrique (Democrats) is a laboratory technician.
  • Rachael Barons (Conservatives for Climate and Environment) is a student.
  • Mary Brewerton (Labor) is a nurse, and works for a surgical supply company.


    Members for Mayo

    Return to front page
    Return to South Australian seats index